Fifteen Hartford area students receive scholarships from the CFM Foundation

The Carmine and Frank Mangini Foundation is proud to announce that fifteen students from the Hartford area have recently received the Foundation’s MVP Scholarship. The MVP Scholarship includes a laptop computer or tablet, a printer and a software package. Recipients are chosen annually based on academics, extracurricular activities, community service and need. This scholarship is one of the hallmarks of the Foundation’s mission to increase opportunities for under resourced students and has recognized more than 220 MVPs since 2003.

Each of this year’s recipients has an impressive academic record and has participated in meaningful community service work such as designing and executing a plan to provide energy after an earthquake in Nepal, working in food pantries, and translating immigration papers for families who do not speak English. Together, they have served their communities, taken part in a broad range of extracurricular activities, and reached the highest-ranking spots in their graduating classes. While the majority of the recipients have grown up in Hartford there is a significant amount of diversity with immigrants from Burma, Albania and Brazil. They will be attending competitive colleges and studying subjects ranging from nursing to computer science. Each student has demonstrated strong character, selflessness and passion for their education, and this is what makes them MVPs. “It is incredibly challenging to finish at the top of your class and even harder when you are involved in extracurricular activities. This amazing group of kids were able to do that while also giving back to their communities and overcoming some extremely difficult personal challenges. We had a record number of applicants this year and I am so proud of our MVPs and excited about the things they will achieve in the future,” said Eric Mangini, President of CFM.

This year’s MVPs and the colleges they will be attending are Paulo Alcantara (University of Connecticut), Cavana Carey (Central Connecticut State University), Hannah Desmarais (Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts), Nicholas Furlow (University of Connecticut), Gema Gabriella Guzman Grillo (University of Connecticut), Sha-Toya Lewis (University of Connecticut), Jasmin Lugo (University of Connecticut), Florida Minja (Manchester Community College), Lorena Minja (University of Connecticut), Win Paw (University of Saint Joseph), Shemar Samuels (Central Connecticut State University), Paw Shee (University of Saint Joseph), Tiana Starks (Trinity College), Jean Vega (University of Connecticut) and O Main Ya (Utica College).

For more information about the Foundation and the MVPs, please visit the website